Questions? (877) 643-7244
FutureNow Post
Thursday, Jun. 28, 2007 at 10:12 am

2 Minutes In The Age of Speed

By Jeffrey Eisenberg
June 28th, 2007

Speed?

This isn’t a post about NASCAR, weight-loss pills or Speed Racer (ah, the Mach 5). I know you’re in a rush, so I’ll get to the point.

In September, Vince Poscente’s book, The Age of Speed, will be in book stores. In preparation for the release, Vince is conducting a survey that takes less than 2 minutes to complete. Plus, if you’re among the first 100 to complete the survey, you get a free copy of his book–not a bad deal.

The opening line in the survey says it all: “Is our 24/7, more-faster-now world eating us alive or setting us free?” (Take the survey here.)

Curious about the book? Here’s what Vince’s website says:

Unraveling the notion that in today’s world we need to slow down, Poscente illustrates why harnessing the power of speed is the ultimate solution for those seeking less stress, less busyness, and more balance. The Age of Speed shows this and other groundbreaking revelations at work with case studies drawn from renegade companies such as Netflix, Google, and Geico. And in the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, a storyteller’s voice enlivens its provocative research and counterintuitive insights

In Books
Add Your Comments

Comments (1)

  1. Could be interesting. Will probably read it (especially if I get a free book), but first impression is that it’s old news.

    Remember “Blur?” http://www.amazon.com/Blur-Stanley-M-Davis/dp/1841120820/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-6298416-2971345?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1183059553&sr=1-1

    Yeah, that whole “the world is fundamentally changing because we’re so much more capable than anyone who went before us” approach turned out real well during the ensuing “bubble” that books like Blur were designed to justify.

    Currently 153,561 books on Amazon w/ “Speed” in title (not counting sports books), including “Speed of Trust (Covey),” “Managing at the Speed of Change (Conner),” and “Speed Lead: Faster, Simpler Ways to Manage People, Projects and Teams in Complex Companies (Hall).” etc. ad nauseum…

    Which points out the REAL problem IMHO– it’s not SPEED, it’s FILTERING. The “information wave” has been crashing all around us for a generation now, and all but the most maladjusted have given up trying to exponentially increase our speed just to be “on top of everything.” And (to paraphrase something I heard recently) we don’t need to “surf” faster, but “sniff” (as in bloodhounds) more effectively.

    KH

Add Your Comments

 

Print this Article
Share

Jeffrey Eisenberg, founder of FutureNow, is a professional marketing speaker and the co-author of New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestselling books Call to Action and Waiting For Your Cat to Bark. You can friend him on Facebook.

More articles from Jeffrey Eisenberg

Marketing Optimization Blog
FREE Newsletter Sign-Up
send it once every: